ColombiaOne.comColombia newsCountries to Visit with a Colombian Passport in 2024

Countries to Visit with a Colombian Passport in 2024


Colombian passport
The Colombian passport allows visa-free access to a large number of countries. Credit: Luis Ospino/Colombia One

The Colombian passport serves as more than just an identity document; it is a gateway to global exploration, offering Colombians visa-free access to a multitude of countries. This feature significantly eases international travel for Colombian citizens, fostering opportunities for cultural exchange and global connectivity.

Destinations with Direct Access for Colombian Passport Holders

South American is a vast territory that welcomes Colombian travelers without requiring a prior visa. Countries like Chile, Mexico, Brazil, and Ecuador are just a few examples of destinations that can be visited solely with a Colombian passport. Additionally, for places like Cuba, a tourist card can be obtained upon arrival, facilitating smoother entry for tourists.

Europe is another continent that opens its borders to holders of the Colombian passport. From Spain and Italy to France and Germany, Colombians can travel across different European nations without needing to apply for a prior visa.

In Asia, destinations like South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, and Turkey also allow access with a passport. The flexibility to visit these regions offers a wide range of cultural experiences and adventures.

Africa also has a small number of countries accessible to holders of the Colombian passport, such as Morocco, Reunion, and Mayotte.

How to Obtain a Colombian Passport

The procedure to obtain a Colombian passport is a relatively straightforward process. Colombian citizens can visit the Foreign Ministry’s website to fill out a form with their details. Subsequently, they need to schedule an appointment through the Comprehensive Citizen Service System (SITAC).

During the scheduled appointment, a photograph will be taken, a signature will be required, and fingerprints will be recorded. Payment for the passport is made at the Bogotá office or, for other cities, at banks associated with each governorate.

After payment, the passport will be ready within approximately 24 hours. It is essential to verify that all information is correct upon receiving it. In case of detecting any errors, there is a one-month window to request corrections.

Full list of countries open to Colombian passport holders

Americas: Chile, Dominican Republic, Bolivia, Venezuela, Argentina, Brazil, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, Uruguay, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, Honduras, Barbados, Bahamas, Aruba, Curaçao, Jamaica, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize, Suriname, Paraguay, Cuba, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Martin, Martinique, French Guiana, Sint Eustatius, Saba, and Dominica.

Europe: United Kingdom, Greece, Spain, Germany, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Sweden, Latvia, Cyprus, Turkey, Slovakia, Finland, France, Hungary, Monaco, Vatican City, Switzerland, Lithuania, Italy, Russia, San Marino, Belgium, Luxembourg, Denmark, Croatia, Czech Republic, Austria, Albania, Estonia, Moldova, Kosovo, Montenegro, Netherlands, Liechtenstein, Slovenia, Andorra, Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Portugal, Romania, Iceland, and Malta.

Oceania: New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna, Samoa, and French Polynesia.

Asia: South Korea, Maldives, Philippines, Hong Kong, Israel, Qatar, and Singapore.

Africa: Morocco, Reunion, and Mayotte.

See all the latest news from Colombia and the world at Contact our newsroom to report an update or send your story, photos and videos. Follow Colombia One on Google News, Facebook, Instagram, TikTok and subscribe here to our newsletter.